Feature Story Angst and Charlie Campell

Sarah asked me about my feature story idea today…I have to admit that while I have been giving it a lot of thought, most of the thoughts consist of how difficult and impossible this seems. While I seemed to have had a lead a little while ago, I’d like to have at least one other option before I decide. The feature story idea and pitch are due in a couple weeks. Hopefully by then I’ll have gotten a little further with that.

The highlight of my day was, no question, getting to meet Charlie Campbell who fills us in on What’s Great in Dayton every week. My first practices in editing were with his recordings, so when I met him his voice was very familiar to me. There’s something about someone like Charlie who just makes a person’s day. Not only does he have a dynamic voice, but he is so full of positive energy and life. Just seeing and talking to him brings a smile to a face. We met, and found out that we’re both New Englanders. He told me about WYSO’s facilities when he first started, which were at Sontag Fels across the street from where we are now. Today its being slowly reanimated into a student union type space. Still, I can’t imagine what it must have been like to be a radio station in that basement. We made our way to the studio and, with some help from Sarah, I recorded for the first time and then edited what we recorded.

What a nice Valentine’s Day morning. I always say that the only thing I don’t like about my job is that I have to be a student at the same time. I can’t wait for coop to start.

Here’s a shout-out to all my classmates stressing and persevering through midterms…keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

