Endings

Kijin-

Today is my last day as a Miller Fellow at WYSO. This morning, getting ready, was like any other. I rolled out of bed, brushed my teeth, dressed and went down for breakfast. I walked across campus and into the studio. It wasn’t until I was on the way to the kitchen for a mug of water that the comfortableness, the rightness, the homeyness of this place sank in. And I realized that I may never be able to do this again.

WYSO is where I was meant to be this last year. Nothing feels more right and natural than coming here first thing in the morning. It’s quiet, not everyone is always in yet. There are little conversations going on while the BBC airs over the station-wide radio speakers. It’s hard to believe that I won’t get to do this anymore. I’m so excited for my co-op, for getting off campus for the first time in a year and a quarter, but I think I know what I’ll miss the most. Everything else, the classes, campus life, friends, the library, will all be here waiting for me when I get back. My Fellowship at WYSO will not.

It’s time to try new things, meet new people see new places. I can’t wait for the new beginnings I’m getting to start in the new year, my co-op and the next quarter. Even so, I know a little part of me will always be here, at a tiny public radio station in Ohio with a big, big heart. 91.3 WYSO.

Leave a Reply

