It’s a party…in my ears

Kijin-

Hey all!

I dove right into producing the next episode of the Antioch Word after I got the last one out. The next one, the fifth I’ve produced, is going to be a little longer than usual, but I think you’re really going to like it. I’m having an absolute ball putting it together. In this one I have the opportunity to use sound effects and different kinds of music which  is so fun and exciting. Layering sounds on one another has an effect that I would never have expected a year ago. I think I wrote once about the difference it makes just adding a little music to some tape. It adds texture to what you’re hearing, almost like another dimension is being added to what you are hearing. I know, I sound a little crazy. I’m just having so much fun with this episode! I choose music or a sound and layer it on what I already and something clicks; I play the clip and my heart jumps; that little addition makes the difference.

I need a sound effect that I so far haven’t been able to find on the internet, so I’m going to have to record it myself. I’m taking a recording kit home this weekend, we’ll see how it goes. I need the sound of running at different paces through the woods, but Sarah and I were worried that the impact of my footsteps might get picked up by the recorder, ruining the sound. I’m excited to try it out anyway, I’ve never done anything so experimental before. It’s going to be exciting.

I hope you have a wondering weekend. Please, be kind to yourself and others.

Leave a comment